Foyle Golf Demo Options
Foyle Golf

Desmond Motors Winter League

November 29, 2016

The Desmond Motors Winter League Qualifying section came to a conclusion on Sunday last and after ten rounds with the best eight rounds counting it turned out to be a very competitive event, and with the teams dropping their lowest scores in the last two rounds this certainly changed the finishing positions on the leader board as the eight qualifiers for the final were identified , with Team 6, James Sheehan, Stephen Gibson, Lenny Mc Grory and Sean Ferry coming through to take the leading qualifiers accolade  by a clear twelve points, with an excellent 91.85 points eight round average, and will go into the Final on Saturday 3rd December 2016 at 10.30am as clear favorites to take the coveted title, but with another seven very good teams taking part they will also have a say when the four team prizes are decided on the day.

Final Qualifiers.

1st   Team   6    James Sheehan    Stephen Gibson    Lenny Mc Grory    Sean Ferry    735pts
2nd   Team   5    Kevin Mc Dermott    Charles Mc Dermott    Martin Moran    Cormac Mc Geady    723pts
3rd   Team   3    Gary Mc Elroy    Gary Jackson    Ciaran O’ Doherty    Michael Coyle    722pts
4th   Team 13    Sean Mc Eleney    Martin Mc Eleney    James Meehan    Paul Mc Eleney    712pts
5th   Team   7    Mark Doherty    Kevin Dunn    Kevin Thomas    Damian Mc Colgan    712pts
6th   Team 14    Harry Lafferty    John Lafferty    Gary Kennedy    John Duffy    707pts
7th   Team   2    Stephen Doherty    Trevor Holmes    Adrian Browne    Peter Kemish    704pts
8th   Team 15    Paddy Mc Cafferty    Chris Lynch    Joe Lynch    Declan Mc Kinney    699pts

Ladies Winter League.

The Ladies section of the Desmond Motors Winter League was also decided after the finishing date on Sunday with Team 10, Lady Vice Captain Florence Rankin, Lorna Thompson and Myra Gough, having lead the field from round one, won the coveted title with a fine accumulated score of 30 points from their eight best rounds, with Lady Captain Monica Smith, Agnes Mc Laughlin and Geraldine Doherty finishing runners up four points in arrears.

After independent assessment of our course and facilities, we are proud to have been awarded the Northern Ireland Tourist Board Quality
and Assurance Mark.