Foyle Golf Demo Options
Foyle Golf

Desmond Motors Winter League Card 1

October 18, 2015

The Annual Desmond Motors Winter League is now underway for the 17th consecutive year and the teams of four 18 hole stableford event is proving to be as popular as ever with some hundred competitors taking part on a weekly basis, with the ten qualifying rounds which has the best eight counting running until Sunday 29th November after which the leading eight teams will play in the final on Saturday 5th December for the four team prizes on offer.

With the first round cards returned teams 19 Kevin O’ Kane, Anthony Mc Monagle, Tommy Young, Sean Mc Bay and 22 Sean Mc Eleney, Peter Roddy, Martin Mc Eleney and Paul Mc Eleney having returned fine opening scores of 95 points hold a slender one point advantage over he chasing pack.

Leading Teams Round 1.

Team 19     Kevin O’ Kane    Anthony Mc Monagle    Tommy Young    Sean Mc Bay     95pts
Team 22     Sean Mc Eleney    Peter Roddy    Martin Mc Eleney    Paul Mc Eleney     95pts
Team 20     Kieran Doherty    Emmet O’ Kane    Michael Mullin    John O’ Kane     94pts
Team 21     Gerald Harkin    Cathal O’ Donnell    Vinny Brady    Ronnie Kennedy     90pts
Team 4     Stephen Doherty    Peter Kemish    Adrian Browne    Trevor Holmes     90pts

The Ladies Section of the League is a teams of three stableford event played over eleven holes and after round one team 8 Anne Hamilton, Christine Mc Cafferty and Margaret Killen having returned a very good score of 52 points take a three point lead over team 2 Myra Gough, Lorna Thompson and Florence Rankin.

Leading Teams Round 1.

Team 8     Anne Hamilton    Christine Mc Cafferty    Margaret Killen     52pts
Team 2     Myra Gough    Lorna Thompson    Florence Rankin     49pts
Team 23     Ann Fulton    Denise Callan    Ann K Hamilton     46pts


After independent assessment of our course and facilities, we are proud to have been awarded the Northern Ireland Tourist Board Quality
and Assurance Mark.